top of page
Untitled (22).png

Arnel Villamin
Master by research
co-supervisor: Dr Kim Robinson (HYMS)

Screen Shot 2022-08-27 at 16.03.08.png

Integrated master students 2023-2024

Leah White
Nick Allens
David Oppenshaw
Echhinga Angdembe


Firefly a group of 4 diverse skin color 2 boys 2 girl biologist doing crazy experiment in
Untitled (22).png

Callum Robson
Master by research

Co-supervisor: Prof. Marjan van der Woude (HYMS)

Untitled (22).png

Sebastian Grant
PhD student YGRS-funded

co-supervisor: Dr Chris Spicer (chemistry)

Education: 1:1 Mbiol Biotechnology and Microbiology, University of York


Role: PhD student 

Project: Inflammatory caspases substrates recognition

What I like to do when not in the lab: Outside of lab, I like stay active through the gym, Parkrun and MMA.  However,  I do also enjoy a nice pint at the pub.

Favourite movie: The School of Rock

Favourite Book: Sapiens, Yuval Noah Harari 

Favourite quote: Focusing too much on what is behind you is a sure way to trip over. 

Firefly A bacteria dancing under a disco ball 14704.jpg

Gemma Banister

PhD student WR BBSRC-funded

co-supervisors: Prof Daniela Barilla and Dr. Christoph Baumann

Education: BA Natural Sciences, University of Cambridge

Current position: PhD student, 

Project: Gemma is studying how GBPs assemble and control the non-canonical inflammasome during bacterial infections

What you like to do when you are not in the lab: I love Ballroom and Latin Dancing! I compete with the University dancesport team. 

Favourite book: Uprooted, Naomi Novik

Favourite movie- Paddington

Fun fact about yourself: I came second in the World Paper and Comb Championship in 2011 with my parents, only beaten by the beatbox version of the Thomas the Tank Engine theme.


PhD student (co-Supervisee)
Kourtzelis lab (York), co-suppervised by Boucher lab

Nationality: Greek

Education: Bachelor of Science in Biochemistry and Biotechnology (University of Thessaly, 2011-2016), Master of Research (King's College London, 2017-2019). 

Current position: PhD researcher in Cancer and Immunology

Project: I focus on novel cancer immunotherapies (e.g. immunomodulators, monoclonal antibodies) to harness and enhance the myeloid cell activity (e.g. phagocytosis, efferocytosis) to mediate innate immune training and potentially suppress tumour growth.

Favorite quote: Fortune favours the bold.

What  do you like to do when you are not in the lab: I am a big fan of sports. I play football and tennis. I go to the gym quite frequently, I enjoy swimming (swimming pool or open water/sea) and I go for 10-15km runs. I am quite adventurous so during my holidays I choose to go on long road trips and visit new places, cultures and people.

Favorite book: Nineteen Eighty-Four (George Orwell) 

Favorite movie: Scent of a woman

Fun fact about yourself: I was once a commando (rank of sergeant) during my mandatory army service in Greek

Dr Haixia Luo
Visiting Professor (Ningxia University, China)

Education: PhD (Dublin)

Current position: Academic visitor

Project: Impact of Salmonella SPI-II effectors on human  infection

What you like to do when you are not in the lab:  Watch movies or lesson music

Favourite book: Fortress Besieged

Favourite movie: The Shawshank Redemption


Quote: The miracle of life lies not in its mere existence, but in its ability to adapt and endure.

Screen Shot 2024-01-12 at 11.31.48.png
Untitled (22).png

Dave Boucher

Lab Head/ Lecturer in Biomedical sciences

Nationality: Canadian

Education: Bsc in Biotechnology (major in molecular Biology), PhD Pharmacology (University of Sherbrooke, Canada). 

Current position: Lab Head, Lecturer in Biomedical Sciences

Project: Dave has a lot of very secret projects...

Favorite quote: Imagination is more important than knowledge. For knowledge is limited, whereas imagination embraces the entire world, stimulating progress, giving birth to evolution (Einstein)

What you like to do when you are not in the lab: I enjoy hiking and the outdoors as much as I enjoy a nice beer in a quiet pub. He enjoy running (although quite slowly), cooking and baking. I am an avid sport fan and enjoy watching Ice hockey and Tennis

Favorite book: Novecento (Baricco)

                         The Alchimist (Coehlo)

Favorite movie: Indiana Jones (wanted to be an archaeologist as a child)

Fun fact about yourself: I owned a pet goat when I was  a college and University student. 

bottom of page